80 vs. 85 (vs. 89?)

Tzvetan

Veteran
Friends:

I'm fairly new to this bracket, but have been enjoying playing some games on my 80 mage the last little while. I've kept him at 80 primarily so I can get Herald of the Titans (but my groups always seem to fall apart at the last minute). Once I get the achievement, though, I'm debating whether to level him up. Again, I'm new to the bracket, so pardon my ignorance, but these are my thoughts:

Stay at 80: benefits of Spellfire set are more pronounced, plus scaled BC gear and the rep rings.

Level to 85: access to Cata gear, specifically Dragonwrath.

Level to 89: Is there much point? I know 87 unlocks some engi stuff, but I'm honestly not super interested in it.

Any advice? I think that, for me, it basically comes down to 80 vs. 85; is the staff worth it? I'd love to hear some thoughts from people who've played here for a while. Thanks!

from what i've heard 80 for more community if you can call it that

85 same as 80s but for cata shit

87>89 for bgs cause the way stats scale and you don't unlock anything particularly amazing inbetween 87-89

i'm in the midst of gearing out an 89 rn tho cause why not its not like 89s dont exist they're just more rarer

You should refer to one of the tens of other threads on here regarding this same topic. This website has copious amounts of information on it - Perouse the 80s forums and I can guarantee you'll find the answers you are seeking

You should refer to one of the tens of other threads on here regarding this same topic. This website has copious amounts of information on it - Perouse the 80s forums and I can guarantee you'll find the answers you are seeking

I wish that were true. All I found after digging through the threads posted after 7.3.5 was a bunch of conjecture and supposition. Nobody has numbers.