[85-89] Gear & Tips/tricks guide!

sammipk

Legend
Hey! So i'm pretty new to the 85 twinking scene, i've mostly played 2s atm as of the long queues. Just felt like sharing a few tips and tricks!

If you're new to this bracket, you might be thinking. Why not just twink 89? I mean it's a higher level so i'll be better.
That's not completely incorrect but it's not as you might think. Check below for info.

85 - Basic twinking level, since of patch 5.4 MoP enchants and Gems is scaled down as a level 85 which makes your enchants not much from useless.
86 - Best level for pure stats, MoP enchants and Gems are back to the same scaling as 90 and your passive stats arent much worse then 85 making this the best for pure stats.
87 - This is a good level to twink, depending on which class you are. Your passive skills gets scaled down but your MoP enchants still work out, the reason you should twink at 87 would be because of the new spell. This is especially good for classes like hunters, rogues and alot more while it's not as good for maybe warlocks as they get gate which is a great spell but you don't get to use it in the most comps at this state of the bracket as of all the burst comps. It's especially good for rogues and feral druids because of finding 85's easier in stealth. AND NOT TO FORGET! This is almost a MUST if you're an engineer because of the helms like Deadly Retinal Armor and the enchant Synapse Springs
88 - I have yet to find a reason to twink at this bracket. Please reply with a comment for why to twink at this level if you have any reason.
89 - At this state your passive stats are not very great, however you've got a huge acces to new gear. You can easily get around 290k hp unbuffed however your secondary stats like Mastery, Haste and Crit will be ALOT lower.

Conclusion, if you want to be a pure twink i'd say twink at 85. If you want to be the best in terms of stats and damage i'd say go level 87.

Which classes are viable [Updated to 5.4]