Community impact of casual vs. competitive play

One of my favorite Splatoon 3 Youtubers posted a video about the community impact of casual vs. competitive approaches, what they get wrong about each other, and how both can contribute to community growth when they get things right. While the video draws on his extended high-end Splatoon 3 and (especially) Super Smash Melee experience, I saw direct parallels to twinking and thought I'd post a link to the 20 minute video:

Enjoy!

It seems like he's not drawing a distinction between competitive and casual players but rather between two different approaches one could take in bringing people into a competitive scene.

But I think he, unintentionally, misses that different people are going to react differently to a wide variety of teaching methods. As a coach, I learned really quickly that some people thrive in a rough environment and some people (get this) become absolutely dominate competitors while having their hands held and feelings coddled the whole fucking way. Which is, admittedly, exhausting as a coach lol.

Like, I get the kind of thing he's going for and I dont think he was intending the implication but it was implied that you cant be a serious competitor without having thick skin for harsh criticism. And, at least in my personal experience, I've coached national champion powerlifters who would disprove that.

I think that given an environment where someones interacting personally with people they'd like to bring into a competitive scene, the onus is on the existing member of that scene to meet people where theyre at and try to modify their own behavior to best fit the new persons needs and expectations. Which is, ultimately, where I think this guys head is at. And frankly, thats just damned good coaching advice.

and yes

its damned good dating advice too.