Fire Good Ya Ya - Fire Mage Info

ghank

OG
After loving frost with my 38.9 mage Pizza (no I am not the Pizza, I am a Pizza), I gave fire a chance after talking to Exasperation in my guild. With frost I noticed I rarely ever ran out of hp before mana. Frost is so tanky and can escape everything. The shatter damage was pretty nuts. But I do have to say fire tops that. I now run out of hp before mana typically. And since I mostly queue solo, it seems to suit my style more. There's a lot to learn still as I have a few days playing fire, but the damage is pretty sweet. I did a writeup the other day about playing affliction lock, so I thought I'd do the same for fire, and others can chime in as I am still a noob.

Combos:
Well the ole sheep, get 26 yds distance, pyro, fireball, fireblast, scorch x whatever until dead. Fireball will catchup with pyro and unsheep. If you are closer go pyro, scorch, fireblast, scorch x.

If you don't have 6 seconds, sheep, fireball, scorch, fireblast scorch x.

Nova then fireball, fireblast, scorch x. Or sometimes I will sheep when I get some distance and do the pyro routine.

Sheep x 50. Yesterday I had a troll mage's hp down to nothing and she got a sheep off. In defiance she sheeped me around 50 times all back to back. Didn't know you could do that? You can rank 1 sheep for 60 mana. Sometimes when I get pissed or in a mood, I'll keep someone sheeped / nova'd for as long as possible to keep them out of the game. Yes Offensive, that means you.

Basic Casted DPS:
Scorch 77 dps
Fireball 95 dps (untalented 3.5 sec cast)
Pyro 84 dps
Fireblast is instant and not casted

This is rated damage (including dot) not including spellpower divided by cast time.

Damage Per Mana:
Scorch 1.44
Fireblast 1.2
Fireball 1.50
Pyro 2.1

Again rated damage (including dot) divided by mana cost. As you can see, Pyro is very efficient but hard to get a 6 second cast off.