70-79 70 Rogue Guide [WOD]

Dreams

fastest shadowstep in the west
OUTDATED
As the title suggests this is a Warlords of Draenor guide and thus is outdated as of the Legion prepatch (19th/20th of July 2016). I might eventually make a rogue guide for Legion, but I'm keeping this one up in case someone needs it for a WoD private server or whatever. I'll leave a link to the Legion guide here if I make one.

70 Rogue Guide

Table of contents:
1. Introduction
2. Character build (gear,professions,spec,talents)

3. Gameplay tips (macros,openers)

Introduction:

Hi, I'm Dreams and I've played rogue under different names such as Thought, Failbait, Complex, Odeezy and Manyfacedgod in the EU 70 bracket.
I have been maining the 70 bracket for almost 6 years with no breaks. I've always loved researching and theorycrafting, and have for a long time been one of the "go to guys" when it comes to any information on the bracket. I primarily play the bracket for 2v2 arena.

With WoD and the new arena scaling system, the BiS items for all classes have been confusing to a lot of people. And with the recent huge spike in 70 activity, I get a LOT of questions. And that is the primary reason I'm writing this guide; to help any new rogues get started by simply directing them to one place where they can read everything for themselves. No grandfathered items, enchants or glyphs are listed here because it's a guide intended for new players.

Character build - Gear
In skirmishes and battlegrounds every piece of gear you are wearing scales up to ilvl 283, including really low level items. This makes gearing for PvP more interesting than it has ever been before.
Luckily you don't have to spend months of your life and thousands of gold testing hundreds of items to figure out how the scaling works, because we (me and Fx, a fellow guildmember) have already done that.